Your location:

Your location

Profile Login

Skip Navigation LinksHome > Time Zones > Central European Summer Time Zone - CEST

Central European Summer Time Zone - CEST


The current time and date right now


5:26:51 AM
Saturday, July 20, 2024

UTC/GMT is 03:26 on Saturday, July 20, 2024

Central European Time is one hour ahead of Coordinated Universal Time standard, written as an offset of UTC + 1. That means to find the standard time in the zone, you must add one hour to Coordinated Universal Time.

Territories observing the time zone are primarily in Europe. It runs through the northern parts of Europe, and central Europe – including the UK – and northern Africa. In Europe, this time zone is also referred to as European Central Time (ECT), or Central Europe Time (CET). In Germany, the time zone is referred to as Mitteleuropäische Zeit or MEZ.

During fall to winter months Central European Time, or CET is used, and then during Daylight Saving (spring to summer months) Central European Summer Time or CEST is used.

Locations in Central European Summer Time Zone

The following areas are included in the time zone:                                                                                                                                                                    

  • Europe

    • Albania

    • Andorra

    • Austria

    • Belgium

    • Bosnia-Herzegovina

    • Croatia

    • Czech Republic

    • Denmark

    • France

    • Germany

    • Gibraltar

    • Holy See/Vatican City

    • Hungary

    • Italy

    • Kosovo

    • Liechtenstein

    • Luxembourg

    • Republic of Macedonia

    • Malta

    • Monaco

    • Montenegro

    • Netherlands

    • Norway

    • Poland

    • San Marino

    • Serbia

    • Slovakia

    • Slovenia

    • Spain

    • Sweden

    • Switzerland

  • Africa

    • Algeria

    • Tunisia

  • Antarctica

    • Troll Station


Some areas are split, which means that one portion of a territory may be in one time zone and the rest in another. Although the locations on the list above may have a portion in the Central European Summer Time zone, they may also have exceptions which are listed below.

Exceptions In Europe

Spain – the Canary Islands follow Western European Time in the fall and winter months, and Western European Summer Time during the spring and summer months.

Select A Location

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Add Clock To Your Website